HISTORY OF CHRIST THE KING
Celebrating Our 50th Anniversary
October of 2011
On Christmas day in 1958 the first Mass was celebrated for the new community of Christ the King. The Mass setting was in a classroom in the old Harmony School that the parishioners worked hard to refurbish and remodel.
By October of 1960 there was a need for a larger place and a temporary church was built. Today this is used as the gym and meeting hall. In 1964 the Parish school was built. Today it has an enrollment of 230 students. In 1974 there were 700 families registered in the parish. The community continues to grow in its many liturgical, educational and social activities.
The current church building was dedicated on April 15, 1980. By July 1985 about 1200 families were registered. Today both the church and the school continue to be a vibrant presence in the
North Clackamas community.